1757 Bellin Original Antique Map Island & Bay of Arguin Mauritania, West Africa

Cartographer : Jacques Nicholas Bellin

  • Title: Plan De La Baye Et Isle D'Arguim
  • Date: 1757
  • Condition : (A+) Fine Condition
  • Ref: 25793
  • Size: 10in x 7in (255mm x 180mm)

This fine, original copper-plate engraved antique map of the Island & Bay of Arguin Mauritania, West Africa by Nicolas Bellin in 1757 was published in Antoine François Prevosts 15 volumes of Histoire Generale des Voyages written by Prevost & other authors between 1746-1790.

The Bay of Arguin is a bay on the Atlantic shore of Mauritania
The bay would be first known in 1035 as Abdallah ibn Yasin founded a ribat (military refuge) in the island of Tidra and was the origin of the Almoravid Dynasty.
The first European to visit the bay was Nuno Tristão in 1443 and the remainder of the bay would be explored.
The area is also known as the place where the French frigate Meduse (1810) was wrecked in 1816

General Definitions:
Paper thickness and quality: - Heavy and stable
Paper color : - off white
Age of map color: - Early
Colors used: - Yellow, green
General color appearance: - Authentic
Paper size: - 10in x 7in (255mm x 180mm)
Plate size: - 9in x 6 1/2in (250mm x 165mm)
Margins: - Min 1/2in (12mm)

Margins: - None
Plate area: - None
Verso: - None

One of Antoine Francois Prevosts monumental undertakings was his history of exploration & discovery in 15 volumes titledHistoire Générale des Voyages written between 1746-1759 and was extended to 20 volumes after his death by various authors.
The 20 volumes cover the early explorations & discoveries on 3 continents: Africa (v. 1-5), Asia (v. 5-11), and America (v. 12-15) with material on the finding of the French, English, Dutch, and Portugese.
A number of notable cartographers and engravers contributed to the copper plate maps and views to the 20 volumes including Nicolas Bellin, Jan Schley, Chedel, Franc Aveline, Fessard, and many others.
The African volumes cover primarily coastal countries of West, Southern, and Eastern Africa, plus the Congo, Madagascar, Arabia and the Persian Gulf areas.
The Asian volumes cover China, Korea, Tibet, Japan, Philippines, and countries bordering the Indian Ocean.
Volume 11 includes Australia and Antarctica.
Volumes 12-15 cover voyages and discoveries in America, including the East Indies, South, Central and North America.
Volumes 16-20 include supplement volumes & tables along with continuation of voyages and discoveries in Russia, Northern Europe, America, Asia & Australia.